Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   B-Body (https://moparforums.com/forums/f10/)
-   -   poly 318 vacuum leak help? (https://moparforums.com/forums/f10/poly-318-vacuum-leak-help-378/)

66coronetgirlie 10-22-2007 09:01 AM

poly 318 vacuum leak help?

Hey guys, I'm new here and need a little help. I'm not a mechanical genius by any means, but I'm trying my best.
I just bought a 66 coronet 440 with a poly 318 2bbl a few weeks ago. It runs alright (it stalls when put into gear or stopped). It acts like it has a vacuum leak but I checked all the hoses and around the base of the carb and all that stuff and can't seem to find anything (pcv valve..but i replaced it w/ no change in how it runs). Anyway, it has a Holley 2bbl on it and it's the "newer" style? Someone told me the poly 318 ran better with the old style carter or Stromberg carb. I can't seem to find any information on either of those carbs for this car... numbers etc that I would need to locate it and buy it. Hell, I can't even find a rebuild kit for the Holley thats on it (which is junk).
Can anyone help?
i also put a new 1 wire alternator on it and electronic ignition. Is there a need to re-gap the plugs when switching from points to electronic ignition?
Why does this car have single exhaust? Would converting to dual exhaust help the poor lil engine? It just seems so restricting to have 1 small tube for exhaust.
I found an aluminum 4bbl intake for it for $100, i doubt I could keep my foot out of it w/ a 4bbl, and gas prices aren't cheap right now. Would it be a decent idea to get the 4bbl intake and put a 2bbl adapter on it?
Also the timing.. a friend of mine told me 10* BTDC so thats what I timed it at..still runs like crap... then I was told (by a few diff people) between 2-6* and then told 8*... and maybe even 12* if the timing chain is a little slack. I'm a mopar idiot and non of my car friends have mopars... either way its still running like crap @ 10* btdc... whats the correct timing setting?