Basic Carb Size for 1968 383? Rookie question...

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 05:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Basic Carb Size for 1968 383? Rookie question...

Hi all,
I've got a 1968 Dodge Monaco that has the 383 2bbl. and single exhaust. It makes good power, and I actually find it quite impressive for a 2bbl., but I feel the need for a four barrel. I realize Holleys are big with the Mopar crowd, but I'm a beginner and have more experience with Edelbrocks and they're easier to live with, so I'm probably getting one of them. I'm new to Mopars so my question is: what size to get, and what intake? I've done a bunch of forum searches on this stuff, but they seem to deal with much more heavily modified motors than mine.

This would be considered a very mild modification, as the cam and heads, etc. are all stock. I just want to put a nice 4bbl. and nice duals on it and I'll be happy. Would a 750 be too much carb for an engine like this? I had a 600 Edelbrock on an Olds 394 and it did the trick, but if I could get away with a 750, then I'd probably go that direction in case I mod it up more in future.

My first thought for intakes was to find a stock '68 4bbl. intake, but I've heard the flow on an Edelbrock performer is substantially better. Would I notice a difference for the extra $$? I'm not doing any drag racing, this is all street/highway stuff here.

Another consideration: if I get a 600CFM, and decide to put a hotter cam, headers, etc. on it later, will I be under-carbed?

Thanks in advance for any basic wisdom you might have to share!
Old 03-20-2011, 06:04 PM
Mopar Fanatic

I believe the factory 383HP carb was 625cfm.
Old 03-20-2011, 10:55 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts