340 timing questions?

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2011, 03:10 PM
Mopar Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
340 timing questions?

Ok guys, I just bought my first 72 dart with a built 340. And I'm new to mopars! (ex ford guy)! So the guy I bought it off of didn't know the cam specs, but it does have a nice lump to it. The car has a pretty good hesitation when you hammer the pedal. I tried to play with the timing but can't seem to get it rite. The stock balancer is on there so the timing mark is under the water pump when I go to time it? Any suggestions would be great, thank-brandon.

Motor specs as I can see the-
x heads
Comp L/T headers
750 Holley
Victor intake
Auto trans/stall ???
Old 10-15-2011, 05:36 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
This sounds somewhat like you may have an early balancer on a late engine, IE late timing cover/ water pump

The timing mark tab on the timing cover is on the driver's side?

The lower hose to the water pump is on the passenger side?

FIRST thing to do is find out if your timing mark is correct, and if not you can MAKE one

So get/ make a "piston stop" like this:

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2002-...onStopTool.jpg

You can make one from an old spark plug

Remove no1 plug, make sure the piston is "down a ways" and remove the battery ground

Install the stop. You may have to play with the length. Rotate the engine with a wrench until no1 piston stops on the device. You are NOT trying to stop it at the top (TDC) but rather "down a ways."

When the piston is against the stop, make a temporary mark under TDC on the timing tab onto the balancer

Now rotate the engine counter clockwise, until it stops again, and make a second mark.

TRUE TDC will be halfway between the two temporary marks, and if the original is correct, that is where it will be

Now do one of two things. CAREFULLY measure around the outside of the balancer with a small flexible tape. Take care to be accurate