73 charger stalls and shuts off in drive

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2013, 10:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
73 charger stalls and shuts off in drive

Hey guys,
New to this forum but I've owned my 1973 Dodge Charger for about a year now. When we test drove it, we had no problems with it, but as soon as we got it home, it only ran well in park. It idles fine and is ok when it rolls in neutral or rolls under its own power in drive, but as soon as you press the gas in drive, it chokes and dies. It doesnt do this in park, it revs pretty well, only when its in drive. We've cleaned and rebuilt the carburetor, replaced various hoses, ran vacuum tests, used a tachometer to check idle speeds, checked the distributor wires, etc. Sorry if any of this sounds naive, but I'm fairly new to cars, and especially older ones. I really want to get this one running so I can drive it to the shop and get the top redone and take care of a couple of rust issues. My father is able to trick it, shift it into neutral and get the engine revved so when he drops it into drive it already has some RPMs and wont stall and die. Obviously this works but I dont want to drive it this way forever. I greatly appreciate anyone who can help me or even point me in the right direction.
Old 02-19-2013, 12:08 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 103 Likes on 103 Posts
Smile

Welcome
it sounds like your accelerator pump is not working?
or your power valve.
what kind of carb is it?
can you post pictures?
are all the part's of the carb there? linkages ect
don't keep neutral dropping it to get her rolling your going to break something expensive!
What is the timing set at?
how many miles on the motor specifically the timing chain?
Old 02-19-2013, 12:14 PM