Misfire only at idle?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2009, 01:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Misfire only at idle?

Background:

My Uncles 96 Eagle Vision TSI. 3.5l came to me with P0403 egr circuit code. the egr transducer tested bad in more ways than one, the solenoid was open and the transducer was not holding pressure or vacuum.

The Bone:

He was given the car from the inlaws as they knew it had a problem and it was diagnosed as "a common problem" and it needed a head (along with who knows what else to get the bill up to a couple grand... enough to make them say its not worth it). Personally I am a Chrysler CAP student in my 2nd year and got on dealerconnect, and alldata and didnt find ANY mention of common head/valve problems, nor in the last year at work seen any come in.

The Initial Repair:

I told my Uncle that the EGR valve / transducer was infact bad. My only concern is the previous diagnosis, WHICH in all fairness an open EGR valve would seem like a misfire. I didnt like how there was no misfire code though. So I put the valve in, started it up, it seemed to run much smoother now. Only now sitting in gear (reverse or drive) the car is shaking (misfire) and sure enough my test drive last night sitting in my driveway (after the drive) with it running and in gear *bing* the CEL comes on for a P0305 #5 cylinder misfire.

Checks:

So I dropped it for the night as it was about 2:30am, came out this morning and first thing I did was pulled the spark plug wire off #5. it was soaked in oil, the valve cover seal is bad... BINGO, right?! Its shorting out the spark through the oil, no.... I cleaned up the plug, sprayed out the wire with my trusty brake clean, cleaned out the tube with a rag around a screw driver, and it still runs the same.