78 d-150 318 timing issue

Old 09-15-2012, 07:09 PM
Mopar Fan

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Unhappy 78 d-150 318 timing issue

Hello all fellow wrenchers!! This is my first post, and I'm a newbie to the site.. I bought my son a 78 d150 2-wheel drive 5.2 318v8 2-bbl carb, all stock! and all original..(matching numbers on engine and trany.)
Seemed pretty gutless when we got it, so did the normal tune-up to her (cap,rotor,wires,plugs,filters) we also put a new carb on her.
Although it didn't really seem to help much.(took a slight miss out of her, thats it.) he has been driving it back and forth to work for around 3-months.
He drove it to work 3 days ago, parked it, worked the day, and when he got in her after work she would not start (cranks over fine, just would not fire-up)
I know for the most part "Fuel & Fire" are the 2 main ingredients on any engine to make her come to life....So I checked for fuel to carb and its getting fuel, so I moved on to fire. I pulled a spark plug wire off and put a screw driver in it and held it 1/4" from metal while son turned it over and NADA!! So, long story short (yea right,haha) We have over the last 3-days replaced EVERYTHING electrical ( starter relay, ignition switches, coil, fusible links, Re-manufactured distributor.)