Experience converting to EFI?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2014, 04:05 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Experience converting to EFI?

Hello

Newbie here. I'm the proud owner of a '68 Barracuda by way of Mecum last week. Got a great deal (I think) and love the car. The previous owner had a custom built 360LA dropped in and it's been dyno'ed at 450 HP. I was lucky enough to receive the JMS Racing Engine reports on it as well. It has a 750 Holley on it as well.

It's been over 30 years since I've driven a fuel hungry machine and the sub-10 MPG takes a bit to stomach, mostly because I want this thing as a daily driver. The owner mentioned that his next upgrade was an EFI.

I'm curious if anyone here has done the conversion and if that improved your mileage at all. I know it's not cheap, but TBH, even a 50% improvement would be worth the effort to me.

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-18-2014, 04:10 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 386 Likes on 381 Posts
10 MPG is kind of low ... What kind of gears does it have ?? FI is not cheap but can do wonders for mileage, you can tune it with your laptop...
Old 08-18-2014, 05:34 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 139 Likes on 138 Posts
IMHO. a gear change would be easier and cheaper. and no tuning needed. that much power would have no trouble with a 3.23 for in town driving. i had a 300 J with a 500 in max wedge engine with a 2.73 gear and it would walk away from any thing. even at low speeds.
Old 08-18-2014, 06:09 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 869 Likes on 848 Posts
2014 5.7 only shows 14-15MPG around town......
So your trying to get 15MPG around town per-say????

A gas miser 360 will be a whole new drive train build. "In MY Opinion"
360 LA 0.030 Overbore
264* Cam "Mile-A-More"
2-Barrel EFI w/Fresh air intake.
727 With a gear vendor
28" tire
Keep your foot out of it, should get around 14-15MPG or better around town.

Just my 2 cents...
Old 08-18-2014, 06:23 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 59 Likes on 59 Posts
Originally Posted by oldskoolboarder
Hello