transmission question on 4 speed and difference between a 904 and 727

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2014, 09:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
transmission question on 4 speed and difference between a 904 and 727

I have a 1975 dodge D100 with a 318 4 speed manuel tranny with a granny gear. My truck tops out at 55mph what to change to a 4 speed auto tranny whats the best route to go to get more mph and best tranny to switch to I know I might have to change my rearend gears also. Help plz im a newbie to the mopar world.
Old 05-27-2014, 01:09 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 386 Likes on 381 Posts
Your best bet would be to just replace the trans with a conventional 5 or 6 speed trans without the low gear. If you need an auto ? A TF518 would do the job
Old 05-27-2014, 08:10 AM

Thanks for the input, which vehicles came with that tranny that would bolt up.
Old 05-27-2014, 09:09 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
!!WHOA!!! !!! STOP the presses!!!! !!!!Step away from the shift lever!!!!

What do you mean "My truck tops out at 55mph"

Are you talking about WHAT GEAR is this in? Now I KNOW that if you really do have a "granny gear" in your "tranny"

STOP.......no your truck does not have a

It might have a 3 speed, a 4 speed, a gearbox, a transmission, but I digress

So once again, you are talking about FOURTH gear that the truck "tops out" at 55?

Or LOW gear?

Now if you are talking about LOW gear, you truck cannot possibly have a "granny gear."

But if you are talking about FOURTH gear, either there is

A.......something wrong with the engine

B.....you have incredibly small diameter tires

C....or you have very very low (high numerical) axle gears
The following users liked this post:
Mr.4spd (05-27-2014)
Old 05-27-2014, 10:16 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 869 Likes on 848 Posts
Hahahahahahaaha..... 440roadrunner..... Really!!!! Tim Curry.lol
Thats funny as Chit rite there !!!!!!!!!!! I spit beer all over my Screen !!!
Old 05-27-2014, 12:40 PM