Possible short/draw

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2016, 09:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Possible short/draw

Hey guys, i'm new here, just thought i'd ask a question before I took my car into the garage.

Two days ago I went in for an oil change at a Mr.Lube. Spent over $200 getting all my fluids topped up and checked. The worker I was dealing with said that they didn't check my battery due to it being inaccessible (being in the trunk), and I assured him it wasnt an issue as the battery is under one year old. I got 20 mins down the road, had my battery light pop on, and then two minutes later the whole car shut down and wont start up again, its completely dead.

Now, I know very little about cars and i'm an apprentice electrician, so I did some research about testing the battery with my meter, i found that my battery showed completely dead when I just test from + to -. When I try to boost it, I let the battery charge up to about 11 volts and it stops, (car just clicks when I try to start it) as soon as I remove the jumper cables the battery dies rapidly fast. I've began going through my fuses to look for a short like ive read to do. Just wondering if anyone has seen this or might know what to do next? Also, do you think there might be a coincidence having just left a place that had hands all over my car?

Just an FYI, the car is a 2006 Dodge Charger SXT 3.5L. I bought a Mopar Performance battery less than a year ago and have never had it boosted nor had signs of failure. The car worked perfectly fine (electrically speaking, other than my driver side daytime light was dim) before going for its scheduled oil change.

Thanks for you time and reply guys,

Coho
Old 03-30-2016, 07:34 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 27 Likes on 27 Posts
"The coincidence" of the oil change and severe electrical problems is very troubling. Or "it might" just be happenchance

The "standard way" of checking a draw used to be.......