Engine overhall

Old 09-18-2016, 09:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine overhall

Hey everyone, I would like to get some thoughts. I am a student at UCM in Missouri. I have a engine overhall/preformance class I will be taking next semester. My plan is to rebuild the engine out of my 2012 ram 1500. It has the 5.7L. I got the truck for dirt cheap because it has 165xxx miles on it, but it is in perfect shape. My plan for the engine overhall is a 410 stroker kit from Arrington, phase 6 heads from Arrington, comp 274 cam, 6.1L intake manifold, 65lbs injectors, and JBA long tube headers with catless mid.That's pushing my budget already but I think I can make it work. Does anyone know roughly how much HP and TQ it would be making or any suggestions to help?
Thanks! Marcus
Old 09-18-2016, 10:24 AM
Super Moderator

Received 496 Likes on 479 Posts
I would think that Arrington will have actual numbers for you.
Old 09-18-2016, 10:26 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 359 Likes on 333 Posts
https://www.shophemi.com/p-1169-410-...roker-kit.aspx

https://www.shophemi.com/p-1877-57-h...s-phase-6.aspx

Welcome.

Nice stuff, does the shop you'll be working in have crank balancing capability?

My thoughts are this, even though I have built several engines and have a good level of automotive skill and a licensed Mechanic Son, we send our short blocks to my very good machinist. I have learned as an old licensed tradesman that having the experience at any discipline is invaluable. I don't want to be all negative but with that lay out of money I don't think I would even trust myself and Son, we have agreed we like the guy who's been doing it everyday for 30 years.

If you have good experienced instructors that support this then yes go ahead. When it comes time to assemble the rotating assembly don't do it in a busy noisy class environment. Do it rested, clean and undisturbed.
Old 09-18-2016, 10:32 AM

Originally Posted by Coronet 500
https://www.shophemi.com/p-1169-410-...roker-kit.aspx