Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   B-Body (https://moparforums.com/forums/f10/)
-   -   1973 Cuda engine transmission swap. (https://moparforums.com/forums/f10/1973-cuda-engine-transmission-swap-22095/)

joyner29 02-08-2019 01:12 PM

1973 Cuda engine transmission swap.

Hello

I am a new member and have never posted to a forum of any kind so please excuse the newbie mistakes and feel free to correct me for any violations.

I have basic mechanical knowledge but have never owned or worked on a Mopar.

I have recently acquired a Basic, bone stock 318ci, 3speed manual Plymouth Cuda that will require an engine rebuild or swap as well as a transmission rebuild or swap. I have come across a 5.9L out of a 2001 Dodge 1500 with 110K miles for $700 dollars. It has a brand new 4bbl edelbrock intake and comes complete with all but a carb. He also has a 727 automatic trans as well.

I have 2 questions

Will the 5.9L bolt up to the stock 3 speed.

If I decide to go with the automatic ( car will be used strictly as a cruiser and I really don't want to do any shifting) will the 727 trans bolt up to the 5.9L and will I need to do anything special to make it work in the 73 Cuda.

I'm not trying to offend any Mopar purists by doing this but it isn't a numbers matching car and both the engine and transmission are not original.

Any help or advise would be appreciated.

Iowan 02-08-2019 01:34 PM

The 5.9 oil pan doesn't fit the car and I'm not sure if the 318 pan fits the 5.9 but you will need a flex plate for a 5.9 and a converter but the 727 should work. Also if the 5.9 is early enough it will have both styles of motor mount boss's cast on it including the same as your 318. Also 5.9s have problems with heads cracking so beware of that.
personally I would go with a big block and four speed, that's my idea of a fun cruiser.

Stuntman_Bill 02-21-2019 12:12 AM