Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   Daytona and Laser (https://moparforums.com/forums/f44/)
-   -   89 Daytona Idle problem (https://moparforums.com/forums/f44/89-daytona-idle-problem-12670/)

JacobTheRogue 06-27-2012 09:14 AM

89 Daytona Idle problem

Hello i am new to the fourms i have a 1989 Daytona ES base with a 2.5TBI vin k non turbo engine. the engine is stock and i got it about a year ago. just got a new floor and sub frame wielded in was rotted out. The engine runs good cept for when it idles. once it warms up it idles rough and sometimes stalls out but then starts right back up no engine check lights on, no error codes listed with the on-off-on-off-on ingition check. I have replaced the EGR, MAP, Vaccum lines, dist cap, rotor, plugs and wires, air filter, oil change, and all the sensors cep for internal ones and coolant temp and fan switch. there is a ticking from the top of the motor could be valves or wrist pin not sure but once your driving at 30+ it sounds and runs smooth as butter. just idles crappy. any ideas?

mishimoto 06-27-2012 10:31 AM

Did you pull the end of the wires through the dist cap with pliers?

Mr.4spd 06-27-2012 01:35 PM

Not real familiar with your particular engine, but I know of other fuel injected that employ a controlled vacuum leak to help the computer regulate idle speed. I believe it's called an Air Injection Solenoid? Should be on the throttle body with wires going to it. Perhaps it's failed or plugged. I would also try running a few bottles of fuel injection cleaner through it, worked wonders on my 94 Ram.

JacobTheRogue 06-27-2012 05:00 PM