Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   Do-It-yourself Section (https://moparforums.com/forums/f6/)
-   -   quarter panels... (https://moparforums.com/forums/f6/quarter-panels-453/)

sixpack340 11-15-2007 10:28 AM

quarter panels...

have a 73 cuda im putting quarters on. ive heard some good things about the adhesive that is used to join repair panels instead of welding. im going to go this route for the majority of the resto i think. my questions are...has anyone on here used the adhesive before? if so, is it a good choice? im not sure what panels i want to put on it yet, as far as full o.e. or just skins. im fairly new to body work and i feel i have a good plan on how to tackle the quarters but i just need some feedback from experienced body guys on how its done and which quarters to go with. i asked this same question on another forum and it blew up into a bunch of people arguing over welding/adhesives, and pretty much left me with no answers. thanks!!

ucfierocharger 11-15-2007 04:32 PM

Originally Posted by sixpack340 (Post 1352)
i asked this same question on another forum and it blew up into a bunch of people arguing over welding/adhesives, and pretty much left me with no answers. thanks!!

This surprises me very little. I work at a place that restores high value cars (Bentleys, RR, Duesenberg, etc. www.ddclassic.com) and we would NEVER use anything other than welding and glazing putty at the absolute minimum. we are doing a 1957 ferrari right now and all those panels are going to be able to be painted essentially right over the metal. Using adhesives, and tons of putty just isnt the right way to do it.