h.e.i. set-up

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2011, 05:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
h.e.i. set-up

i put one of those gm hei module's in my 75 van. it runs good with it in, but i am a little worried because i used a test light and i have power to both neg. and pos. coil post's. i'm no great mechanic but that does'nt seem right. a little help would be helpful.
Old 07-24-2011, 09:03 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
I BELIEVE that when an HEI is not firing (key on, engine off) it leaves the coil neg. "open." This would result in battery voltage being present on coil neg. If it runs OK I would not worry

One concern is that you have the dist. pickup coil hooked correctly. If there is any doubt, I can go look at mine, which also uses a Mopar (actually Accel) distributor and HEI module.

If you reverse the pickup, it "moves" the timing enough that the rotor and plug towers do not line up, otherwise known as "rotor phasing."
Old 07-25-2011, 09:42 AM

thank's. i had a back-up module and pluged in. it didnt work. is there a way to check the module? i got these from the junk yard so who know's thier true condition. i just dont want to fry anything. i got alot of money and work into this thing. so far i've put on full lentgh headers, high-rise air-gap manifolr, 625 carter afb, new dist, alt. tranny kits, b&m shifter, race seat's, complete interior, all new tire's and more. fund's are running low now so i need to be careful. thank's for the reply.
Old 07-25-2011, 11:40 AM
Mopar Lover

Can you detail how it's hooked up? What dist. are you using, IE stock Mopar breakerless, or what? If Mopar, have you set the reluctor gap?

One VERY important point is that the module MUST be grounded. The two mounting screws serve this function.

Here's one poorly drawn diagram, but it is accurate, from this page:

http://duster318.freeservers.com/tech/hei.html

You are looking at the top of the module (metal plate on back) as shown, "dished up"