Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   General Technical Questions (https://moparforums.com/forums/f7/)
-   -   1984 Dodge Diplomat 318 BRAIN teazer (https://moparforums.com/forums/f7/1984-dodge-diplomat-318-brain-teazer-51/)

Danny 12-13-2006 07:23 PM

1984 Dodge Diplomat 318 BRAIN teazer

Hi all I have a 1984 Dodge Diplomat 318 automatic with the brain on the air breather.
Now how do I do away with the brain? Do i need to change the carb. maybe a point dist. Thanks puzzled in Arkansas Danny:(

joedirt77 12-13-2006 07:49 PM

diplomat

you need the mopar performance electronic ignition conversion kit- if it's still available. try mancini racing (online). the kit has all you need to make the swap- vacuum advance distributor, ecu etc. the carb doesn't change, 2bbl holley or carter whichever you have. you can leave the computer on the air cleaner (plug the vacuum nipple- vac line now goes to the advance can at the dist.), or remove it and cover the hole, or swap for a non-lean burn air cleaner. you don't need or want a points distributor. mopar performance might have instruction sheets for their kit online- you can piece together your own kit if you choose. don't know if this helps or not- let me know, i've done this swap and it's not hard to do. my daily driver to work is an 83 slant six diplomat, 26 1/2 mpg ! mopar or no car !

Danny 12-13-2006 07:59 PM

diplomat

I'm on a fixed income and just trying to do it as cheap as possible.I don't thank I can afford performance parts. Thanks Danny

Danny 12-20-2006 08:45 PM

Ok I got a performance Vacume dist kit.Do I need to replace the lean burn Carb.? what about all the extra wiring now.

joedirt77 12-21-2006 08:24 PM

electronic ignition