1969 Fury III 318 Intake Manifold

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2014, 08:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1969 Fury III 318 Intake Manifold

OK, to begin with, I'm no mechanic.
I can follow directions reasonably well, and I have a very basic understanding of cars.
My car is a 1969 Plymouth Fury III 318 Automatic.
It's my daily driver, I even just drove it to Daytona Beach and back a couple weeks ago without incident.

Last week, I started having sudden overheating, and as I suspected, my water pump was going.
Took it to a shop that fixed it before and learned it also needed to have intake manifold gasket replaced (leaking) and valve cover gaskets replaced (leaking), as well as a radiator flush.
As I didn't have the amount necessary for the repairs, I decided I'd have to do it myself.
Purchased all necessary parts, fluids, etc.
Got new water pump installed, and figured while I had it open that far, I'd go ahead and tackle the intake manifold then the valve covers.

When I removed the intake manifold, I noticed a single opening on each side on both the manifold and where it met the cylinder head that was incredibly obstructed with a very hard, dry deposit, like some kind of carbon buildup. There was such a small opening remaining that I felt the car couldn't possibly be running very well with that much obstruction.
I get very poor mileage (maybe 12 mpg around town), and performance is sluggish.

SEE YELLOW ARROWS BELOW

It wasn't oily like sludge, it was very hard and dry.
I took a small, sharp screwdriver and was able to break it away until I had cleared out the entire passage, at least where I could see it, on both the engine as shown in the photo, as well as the intake manifold which had been removed.
Once complete, I took my leaf blower (I know, real technical) and blew out all of the debris in the manifold from different angles until nothing further would blow out.