Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   Chassis, Suspension, and Brakes (https://moparforums.com/forums/f83/)
-   -   4 wheel disc master cylinder questions B Body (https://moparforums.com/forums/f83/4-wheel-disc-master-cylinder-questions-b-body-21326/)

Vitamin C 05-01-2018 08:27 AM

4 wheel disc master cylinder questions B Body

I just installed a Right Stuff read disc brake kit on my 70 RR and now need to tackle the master cylinder situation.
I am first going to bleed, then road test to see how it goes then take it from there. I can only assume it will need to be adjusted.
1. Do I install a Wilwood style proportioning valve in-line of the rear hard line? If so, where are you guys installing it?
2. Find a proper 4 wheel disc master cylinder with a possible factory built-in proportioning valve block. Anyone find one that works?
3. Install a 4 wheel master cylinder with a built-in proportioning vale like the one CPP has. Anyone done this?
4. Open to suggestions.

I have a CPP master cylinder from my 67 Camaro I can use but that would obviously need the 4 bolt to 2 bolt adapter, thinking Dr Diff has a nice one.
By the way, the banjo fittings to caliper were leaking and was a pain in the a** to stop leaking, had to replace copper washers with thicker ones. May replace with Stat-O-Seals, any thoughts on that?

Thanks in advance for replies.

Drag Pak 05-03-2018 09:38 PM

I use a 89 ish Dodge Diplomat aluminum master cylinder that has a 1.0325 ish bore for my manual Mark Williams 4 piston - 4 wheel disc brakes. It's a two bolt mount with an adapter plate and the pedal ratio is modified to 7+:1.0 ratio and will put 1200 psi to the brakes with hand controls.

Vitamin C 05-03-2018 11:11 PM