64 Fury burns up resistors

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2010, 12:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
64 Fury burns up resistors

Hi Ya'll im new to the classic mopar world. I have a 1964 Plymouth Sport Fury that i recently acquired. It is my first car i plan to restore. It has a 400 cid 727 trnas unsure at this time of the gears in it. Ever since i bought the car it has been burning up the resistors. It has the Mopar Performance electonic conversion ignition. I have went thru numerous ignition modules. It has an updated chargin system from what im told. I have replaced the alternator,voltage regulator starter relayand a few dozen resistors tryin to find the problem. I have to the wiring harness out of the car and wired it up per an original diagram i have found and fixed a lot of wrong wires and the car still burns the resistors. I have spent a lot of time and money and im gettin to the point of For Sale. just by turning the key or if the car is runnin within a few mins the resistor is burnt up. I have tried a new amp guage and still no luck. I would greatly appreciated any help,insight or ideas to what it maybe because i am plum outta ideas Thanks
Old 06-28-2010, 07:24 PM
Mopar Fanatic

Change out your ignition coil.
Old 06-29-2010, 02:26 PM

ok so i had an MSD Blaster2 coil on it and swapped it out for a stock coil and the resistor still seems to get hot to where u cant touch it. Any other ideas?
Old 06-29-2010, 02:52 PM
A.K.A Bob Dodge

its normal for the resister to get hot, same as a coil,
Old 06-29-2010, 05:12 PM
Mopar Fanatic

Originally Posted by 1966sportfury
its normal for the resister to get hot, same as a coil,
I agree, did the resistor actually burn up after coil replacement? Power goes from the ignition sw to resistor to coil primary to points (or hall effect coil depending on setup in distributor) then to ground.
Old 06-29-2010, 05:19 PM
Mopar Fanatic