HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2010, 07:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP!!!

Recently I've had the old 2bbl carter carb rebuilt at no prevail, I'm calling it a loss and waste of hard earned money...Anyway, its running horrible; spitts, and sputters, pukes, stalls, and farts. However, I've had my eye on a Holly 500cfm; PART #: 0-4412S to upgrade to and electronic choke. Im also getting the linkage extender just incase.

Would you all agree?

What do I need to do in order to get this done?? Are there any adapters or something i should know about?
Im a total noob and I figure no better way to learn unless I do this with my trusty shop manual.

I love my car, her name is "christine", like the 57 fury...I hate seeing her just sitting in my garadge collecting dust, she wants to be driven....

Any tips, or sigguestions will be greatly appreciated..
THANK YOU!!!!
Old 09-16-2010, 07:51 PM
Mopar Lover

Location: Michigan: The First Line of Defense From The Canadians!
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I learned form an old wrench, that most carb problems are in the distributor! I've always been poor, so I always do my trouble shooting before throwing parts at things!

Last edited by scotts74birds; 09-16-2010 at 07:57 PM.
Old 09-16-2010, 08:06 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Originally Posted by scotts74birds
I learned form an old wrench, that most carb problems are in the distributor! I've always been poor, so I always do my trouble shooting before throwing parts at things!
That's where I'd also look.

New points, condenser, distributor cap and rotor could really make the difference. I've had condensers go bad before and even bought a brand new condenser that was bad. Another thing that I had happen, is I had an entire set of silicone plug wires break down. They still looked good but, I had addressed everything else. I replaced the wires and she ran like new.
Old 09-17-2010, 12:25 AM