Stainless Steel Headers

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2012, 09:23 AM
Mopar Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stainless Steel Headers

OK, in the course of my rebuildng Old Red's 318 engine I had a look at my exhaust manifolds. Both are extremely rusty and clearly didn't seal well so I'm considering replacing them with headers. One problem here is the truck will eventually be going back to my home in Vermont for me to use when I'm on vacation there. Anyone from the snow belt knows that the salt used on the winter roads will eat a set of headers in a very short space of time, therefore if I decide to do this I will go with stainless steel. The problem with that is finding them for a truck this old (1989 Dodge W-150 4x4). The only experience I have with headers comes from years ago when friends and I were building a street-stock race car. I have zero experience with them in 4x4 trucks so here are my questions:
1. Are headers worth the expense and,
2. If they are, where do I find quality stainless headers?
3. If they are not worth it, are there any suggestions about where to get decent replacement exhaust manifolds?
Old 03-15-2012, 10:31 AM
Mopar Fan

Ceramic even better, I live in south sask, and the weather here is snow, now snow salt ice and rain, I found my ceramic lasted alot longer than even stainless. Look on summit they have lots for half decent price, and yes its worth the troubles. Get headers you wont regret it
Old 03-15-2012, 01:35 PM
Super Moderator

Received 181 Likes on 170 Posts
A cheaper option is to take your manifolds to a machine shop that can shot peen them. Then they can machine the machined surface back flat. Then you buy some POR 15 exhaust manifold paint and give them two good coats and bake them in you oven.

Last edited by bremereric; 03-15-2012 at 02:01 PM.
Old 03-15-2012, 02:00 PM
Mopar Fan

@bre
Very good idea, id money is a issue go with bre's comment forsure
Old 03-15-2012, 05:15 PM
PK1
Mopar Lover

Received 106 Likes on 104 Posts