Fusible Link Dodge B200 1977.

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2018, 03:10 AM
Mopar Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Fusible Link Dodge B200 1977.

As you can see - it's not been looked after very well!!
Hello everybody.
I need to replace the battery terminals and cables on the above van I'm restoring in the UK. The terminals and cables aren't the problem - it's very straight forward.
As you are probably aware there is a fusible link off the positive terminal, which goes up through the firewall and behind the dash. The one currently on my van is, to say the least, shot!! It has been repaired several times and not very well - crimps and tape!!.
So, my question is how do I take apart the firewall multi plug to gain access to it's pin and secondly what size cable should I use to replace it? I'm a true novice at auto electrics, and I really am struggling to understand the use of the link and why it couldn't just have a proper fuse on it?
As always, any guidance will very much appreciated . . .
Best regards from the UK
Timbo

Last edited by Timbo; 08-14-2018 at 10:59 AM.
Old 08-17-2018, 03:36 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
C
Old 08-17-2018, 05:44 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 872 Likes on 851 Posts
As far as I know.... it just unclips and you pull it apart?
Old 08-17-2018, 06:38 AM

I'm going through similar situation, i have 3 weather packs connected to firewall, the held in by 2 metal clips that fold up and pull out, weather pack then disconnects, don't yank wiggle back forth up and down, take your time, looking at male and of connectors there should be rubber gasket dividing terminals, lift up with small flat head, should reveal Male end which kind of looks like sewing thread removal tool, small pair of needle nose pliers gently squeeze top and bottom of terminal while pushing link forward then pull back, to reinsert you may have spread apart male term end a little bit so it locks back in place firmly, clean and dielectric grease ends with q tip.