Please Read: Voltmeter for Ammeter

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2014, 10:51 AM
Mopar Fan

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation Please Read: Voltmeter for Ammeter

Alright, It's been a little while since I have been on here, but now I need some help. Or hopefully some of you do. I am currently working on restoring the Instrument Cluster for my 74 Dart I'm restoring. In doing prior research, I learned of the all to common ammeter problems. Now I know that it can easily be bypassed, but a pet peeve of mine is that cheap 3 gauge cluster with a voltmeter screwed to a perfectly original dash which IMO ruins the looks of the dash. So my thought was, why not put a voltmeter in the cluster while I have it apart? So thats what I'm doing. Being an engineering student, I was up to the challenge of replacing the ammeter with a voltmeter and making it look original. And I mean legitimately original look. I want non-mopar enthusiasts to be able to look at my dash and not know that it should be an ammeter.

To start, I completely tore apart an old parts cluster and removed the ammeter. After sifting through voltmeters, I found the Sunpro style-line voltmeter is so close to the ammeter its scary. Like it almost fit perfect without mods. Anyways, it was pretty simple to modify the face from the ammeter to fit the voltmeter. Now I have a dash with a voltmeter that has an ammeter face, but works perfectly!!!

Now where the help comes in. I am interested in have a custom face decal made to transform the ammeter markings to voltmeter markings. I am currently working with a graphics company to have faces made. The problem: its a $100 setup fee for me to have the custom face made. Now I am going to pay it anyways to have my gauges the way I want, but is there anyone else interested in this mod?