Mopar Forums

Mopar Forums (/forums/)
-   A-Body (https://moparforums.com/forums/f9/)
-   -   Im having carburetor problems??? (https://moparforums.com/forums/f9/im-having-carburetor-problems-1933/)

green_machine 12-08-2008 01:45 PM

Im having carburetor problems???

I don't know that much about cars, so if you can help, please make it understandable to me.

I have a 1976 Dodge Dart 2-door hardtop (special edition)
I know it has a holly carburetor and it has been giving me problems for quite some time now. The car currently will not run unless i am pressing on the gas, the second i let go, the car dies. Now, i can barely keep the car running even with gas. I have been told that the Holly isn't a good carb. but the Carter? was.

If anyone can tell me what kind of rebuild kit i need for the Holly, that would be great.
Or, if anyone can tell me if the Carter is better, and where i might be able to get one, that would be good to.

I am a college student so this is my form of transportation, so i need to get it fixed quick. Any help would be appreciated. Again, i don't know much about the specifics of cars, so dumb it down as much as you can for me.
Thank you.

Commando 12-08-2008 02:36 PM

Sounds to me like you have a vacuum leak. Check all your hoses that go into the carb, the hose from the pcv valve (comes out of your valve cover and goes into your air filter), and the hoses that go into the intake in the "christmas tree" looking thing with all the hoses. Did you switch the carbs, is there a gasket between the carb and the intake? Will the engine stay at idle if you just turn it on? If not, checking the hoses by spraying wd-40 or a carb cleaner will need two people, one to keep the car running, the second to spray the hoses and listen for a change in RPMs.

Commando 12-08-2008 02:36 PM

Forgot to mention, Welcome to the forums.

78D200 12-08-2008 04:08 PM

holley's can be hard to tune. It does sound like a vaccum leak to me. Inspect all of your hoses.