new guy needs some buying advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2013, 04:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new guy needs some buying advice...68 dart

What's up guys?

Newbie here. Been around cars for a long time but never was big into mopars until recently. I've stumbled across what seems to be a pretty good deal but not being an expert I'd like to see what you guys think. I had a long conversation with the current owner and he seems like a good guy, so I don't expect many surprises when I go to look at the car this weekend.

Here's the breakdown according to what I asked the owner today:

68 Dart, originally a slant 6/automatic

Engine: Replaced with a 318 out of a 72 charger. Has 340 heads, 340 intake and 340 cam, hooker headers. Needs to be tuned, owner thinks just the carb. He does not remember exactly where the heads came from nor if they've had any work done (valve seats, decking etc.) but they're definitely 340 heads. He thinks they came off another 318 car. Pistons are stock, which leads me to believe that the compression is likely too low giving the impression it needs a tune up. He did say he had the motor apart and had a pro check the spec on the pistons/rings/cylinders for wear and everything tested out fine.

Trans: Replaced with a 4 speed OD out of what the owner thinks was a van, unsure. All the pedals and such came out of another car. Brand new clutch on the car. Owner says shift linkage needs to be adjusted/tightened.

Rear: rebuilt 8-3/4" with new bearings and a 3.23 posi

Suspension: Original to my knowledge.

Brakes: Valiant front disc conversion brand new pads and rotors, drums out back. Needs a parking brake cable.

Body: Currently in primer, had creases on both sides pulled out and bondoed, epoxy primer over top. Needs blocking and paint. Small holes behind rear wheel wells.