New Members Feel free to introduce yourself.

1980 Plymouth Volare

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2016, 06:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1980 Plymouth Volare

As you will tell, I am new to this. Hopefully I am posting this in the right place and will get the right attention... Anywhoo..
A little bit about my ride.
I purchased my 1980 Plymouth Volare as my first car about 4 years ago (I am 22 now). It certainly needed some TLC when first purchased. I got it off some older gent for $650 @ roughly 65,000 miles. I now have about 75,000 maybe.. Long story short, after basic restoration (body work/cosmetics inside and out, basic performance work/upgrade/tuneups), it has been quite beautifully restored I must say. Slowly restored to it's former days. Let's just say I love this car and am fond of my Volare. She has gotten me from point A to B and some. It has had a Newer/Rebuilt starter, alternator, battery, plugs, etc... but now my problem...
I believe it is the Air Pump Diverter Valve? (I believe that's what it is called). Basically it went to **** on me, I went to a local Junkyard, happened to be 2 Volares there with what I needed (The valve and hoses), through them bad boys on, less than a week later SAME thing happened AGAIN... WHAT IS GOING ON?! I miss driving her but don't know what to do or where to go, being that what I need is extremly hard/rare to come by apparently...
ANY SUGGESTIONS GREATLY APPRECIATED! Is there something else going? Also, I must say, I have thought about swapping in a nice small block... Any suggestions on which one/how to do this/is it a good idea? I'm not an expert in mechanics or classics. I just love this car and it's sort of a hobby... It has the 225 /6
Old 02-23-2016, 06:36 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 899 Likes on 876 Posts
Got your message...