New Members Feel free to introduce yourself.

New Mopar Owner seeking guidance

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2012, 06:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Mopar Owner seeking guidance

Hey gang,

I am new to the mopar/collector car scene. I've attended many car shows over the years(to ogle the cars of others) and decided finally that I wanted to take the plunge.

So last September I picked up a '67 Plymouth Fury III from California. Great old girl, but she needed a lot of mechanical work. (Been sitting for years) And now mechanically she is almost finished and ready to pass her final safety, except for her speedometer head.

It's stuck and either needs to be replaced or fixed. But being as new as freshly fallen snow to the mopar car scene. I haven't a clue where I can track down an old head for her or a place that can repair it. (So far all the wreckers in the area came back negative)

**Update** I've found speedometer head's for a '66 but would that work in my '67?

Anyways, I decided to join the forums here. I've wanted too but never really got around to it. So when this issue arose I thought what better time to introduce myself and get help.

Any feedback you guys can provide or a starting place to where I can look would be greatly appreciated.

It's been quite the learning curve so far. The "steal" of a car has turned out to be quite the endeavor. Body wise the car is great, being a California car but there has been many unforeseen surprises.

Apparently, the gentlemen who owned the car, before I decided to spray paint the entire interior black. You heard me right. The entire interior. The dash, the doors, the headliner, carpet and seats. The whole inside. (which was previously green) During this hack job, he also covered all the chrome and accents.