HELP PLEASE!!! 73 duster spark problem, wont fire

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2012, 06:47 AM
Mopar Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP PLEASE!!! 73 duster spark problem, wont fire

Hello, I have bought a 73 duster great shape, We had the engine running good timing very close, But went to turn the car over the next day and it just cranks??? I checked for spark I have none, there is power to my coil but the light on the light tester isnt very bright. I was told by a couple old timers theres a ceramic resistor??? Could this be it. Also park will not engage and i can crank the car over in any gear? Im new to this overhauling a car but this car is great with no rust and a awesome 440 r/b is in it now with shumacher headers, holly intake, gentle cam. Please help gettin frustrated and want to quit.
Old 03-09-2012, 07:19 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 170 Likes on 166 Posts
JW -

Normally the ballast resistor(s) would be the first thing to look at and the ignition control box the second. (The 73 should have an electronic ignition.) But you said, that there was "a little" light from the tester, a blown resistor would result in NO spark at all. Just to confirm, did you check for SPARK coming form the coil?

Assuming you have a automatic trans, you may have a bigger problem if it won't go into park. It could be the linkage or something in the tranny itself.

The two issues are probably NOT related, in case you were thinking it was the neutral safety switch. If that was engaged, the engine wouldn't even crank. So, there might be a NSS problem, but that's "probably" not causing the lack of spark.

Sorry about the headaches, but welcome aboard.

Archer

Last edited by Archer; 03-09-2012 at 07:21 AM.
Old 03-09-2012, 07:27 AM
Mopar Fan

Thank you very much I will try a new balist resistor today and let you know.
Old 03-09-2012, 07:28 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
Several things to check