Won't star but runs fine...

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2011, 06:50 PM
xvc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Won't star but runs fine...

My 74 Duster seems to run like a champ when i get it started...It will only start if i spray a ton of carb cleaner in it but when I get it running it runs great. i don't know what the problem is because I'm a newbie. Any insight,tips,advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

225 slant single barrel, holley 1945(i think)

Last edited by xvc; 04-25-2011 at 07:07 PM.
Old 04-25-2011, 07:08 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 170 Likes on 166 Posts
X -

Been a while since I worked on a 6, but does the carb have an automatic choke and is it working? (Google it for pictures) When dold the butter-fly on top of the air inlet should be closed.

Archer
Old 04-25-2011, 08:03 PM
xvc

I'm not sure but there is a choke cable mounted in the car.

Last edited by xvc; 04-25-2011 at 10:06 PM.
Old 04-26-2011, 03:50 AM
Mopar Lover

x -
Originally Posted by xvc
OK, are you using it? Usually, you pull it out to shut the choke, in to open it.

Don't know what you know about these cars.

1. Manually work the throttle linkage to make sure you're getting a gas squirt.

2. Confirm that pulling the choke lever closes the choke.

3. Close the choke, stomp the gas pedal a few times and turn the key with the pedal 1/2 way down.

4. Once the engine starts, partially open the choke. As the engine builds up rpm, fully open the choke.

These cars aren't like the newer ones, where you just turn the key. Also, until you get things figured out, don't start driving it until the temp starts to come up.

Archer
Old 04-26-2011, 11:01 AM
xvc