Small Block Oiling Issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2011, 10:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Small Block Oiling Issue

Hi all.. New member.. Long post.. Long story.
I'm a marine tech, and recently had the pleasure to meet a customer with a nice, well maintained Rampage sport fishing boat equipped with a right hand rotation small block 360 Chrysler engine. By the accessories on the engine i estimate it to be from the late 1980's. Here's the story..
Last season, he noticed a lack of oil pressure while underway, his gauge was falling to near zero and the buzzer alarm was sounding and he was hearing 'clacking' up top.. His mechanic suggested an oil pump replacement.. so they hauled the boat and yanked the engine with a crane, flipped in a new pump and popped it all back together.. Same result.. low oil at idle, less under way warm.. valve train noise.. The mechanic then condemned the engine believing the main line was trash and tolerances loose... (good logic i think, but why didn't he spot check a main bearing or two while the pan was off?) The mechanic again yanked the engine and tried to sell the customer a VERY expensive fuel injected engine and new transmission to boot, to the tune of over 20K. The customer looks for another option and contacts my shop, we offer remanufactured marine engines. Since the engine is already out of the boat, the customer delivers the engine to my shop and buys the 'Reman'.. and I swap the components from the core to the reman..
Everything is in nice shape.. When I swap the main studs for the windage tray (marine engines are pretty neat!) I get a look at the main bearings.. They look new.. and are standard size.. the crank journals are gorgeous..