74 Scamp

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2011, 11:03 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
74 Scamp

Hi All,

I am a "young new enthusiast" in the Mopar world, so please forgive my lack of knowledge. I have two questions, is a Plymouth Scamp an A body, and is a 440 a good candidate for it? It is a 74' and currently has 70,000 original miles with a slant six. I don't have the car yet but I have the 440 that a friend has given me. Thanks for any responses.

p.s. I am a welder and I have some experience in custom fabrication if there would be a need for modifications to make the engine fit. I don't however want to have to cut out the whole front end to make it work.

Cheers,

Joe welder
Old 12-30-2011, 08:06 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Well, no bites eh? So from what I could scrounge up on other sites for anybody interested it looks like I need a K frame member and some aftermarket motor mounts to make this work. I would really appreciate it if anybody has done this for some pics or feedback. I know the whole drive train has to go rear end included. Possibly some Torsion bars? And a custom driveshaft?

I'll get er done boy's! Or as we say on da rock, Atta B'y.

JW
Old 12-30-2011, 08:17 AM
Super Moderator

Received 181 Likes on 170 Posts
Schumacher Creative is the route I went. I bought their whole package. Headers...motor mounts...and tourqe strap. You will need a big block tranny a minimum of an 8 3/4 rear and yes a new drive shaft. There are other ways to go with the k-member such as moving one of the motor mount perches back if you have spool type mounts.
Old 12-30-2011, 10:26 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Originally Posted by bremereric
Schumacher Creative is the route I went. I bought their whole package. Headers...motor mounts...and tourqe strap. You will need a big block tranny a minimum of an 8 3/4 rear and yes a new drive shaft. There are other ways to go with the k-member such as moving one of the motor mount perches back if you have spool type mounts.