Stock '77 Cordoba 360 track tuning

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 09:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stock '77 Cordoba 360 track tuning

I'm looking to take my '77 Cordoba to an open street legal track event next summer. It's all stock except for the exhaust. I can't remember the pipe size, but they're dual straights. I'm 17, but pretty mechanically inclined. I'm looking mainly for stuff like timing adjustment tips, and such. Thanks a bunch!
Old 01-05-2011, 03:10 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
anything specific that you need help with?
what kind of times are you looking for?
Old 01-05-2011, 05:53 PM

I'm new to timing Mopar engines (or any engine, but it seems straight forward) and I'd just like some insider tips on what to look for when timing it. The guy I'm going with suggested advancing the timing, but he's used to working on four and six cylinder cars so he won't be much help. The event won't at all be timed, it's just a cheap way to get your more aggressive driving out of your system. I was also wondering how much of a difference it would make to remove the A/C compressor drive belts. Thanks a bunch!
Old 01-06-2011, 02:12 PM
Mopar Lover

well, when the car is running, and the a/c is off, having it connected with the belts giving minimal to no resistence to the motor, so thats ok.

bumping the timing will help. the general rule is advance till you ping, then back it off.
check to make sure that your spark plug wires are making good connections, and that the actual wires are not dried out.

what else?
keep the questions coming, do not be afraid to ask away
Old 01-06-2011, 07:44 PM