1978 Dodge Ignition/Starter Relay Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 12:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1978 Dodge Ignition/Starter Relay Problems

I have an issue, I purchased this 1978 truck and the ignition had been bypassed with a push-button starter. I removed all of the excess wiring (push button included) and installed new ignition/ignition wiring harness, and new turn signal cam and wiring. When I tried to start it, the starter relay sparked, I removed battery cable immediately. I am no expert on wiring, and haynes manual is no help. #1: Does the pos cable from battery and pos cable from starter get connected on same terminal on relay? #2: I assume solenoid cable is connected to post on relay saying sol? #3: I am not sure about the ignition post on the relay, where does it trace back to? Any electrical assistance on this would be greatly appreciated; additionally, starter is new. Any ideas where I could find a diagram for dummies that would show where the ignition/relay/battery/starter wires go to/from?
Old 04-11-2011, 12:39 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
I don't have a wiring diagram for your vehicle, so the wiring colors may have changed, but they all work pretty much the same

You have three separate important circuits for ignition

You have "ignition run" traditionally dark blue, which feeds "run" power to the coil resistor/ ignition system, to the regulator ign terminal, the alternator field, and the electric choke if used.

You have the resistor bypass circuit, traditionally brown, hooked to the coil side of the ballast resistor, that feeds "hot" battery voltage to the coil during "start."

Then the starter. You havea traditionally yellow or yellow with tracer, comes from the ign switch in "start" through the bulkhead, and to one of the small push on terminals of the starter relay