Trans Cooler, 440/727

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2010, 08:06 AM
Mopar Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Trans Cooler, 440/727

Hey all, relative newbie here again with a quick question. I went and looked at another 68 Charger this weekend and I liked it as a project. The seller mentioned it's missing/needed trans cooler. How critical is that, how far can it be driven without one, any ideas? I know you should definitely have one for towing, racing, or if you run a stall converter, what about just every day driving?
Old 04-26-2010, 08:48 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 170 Likes on 166 Posts
68 -

(Automatic trans)

Kinda depends on what he meant by "trans-cooler".. All stock radiators have built in transmission cooler (that's why there are trany feeds going into it). I'd be a little leary about driving an automatic without that. He might be talking about a auxiliary trany cooler, mounted in front of the radiator. I've used one for decades (sorta), but not sure of exactly how much it helps in every day driving, but it looks "cool" and couldn't hurt.

Archer
Old 04-26-2010, 09:14 AM
Admin

Received 200 Likes on 195 Posts
Look at the base of the radiator, if there are two hard line going into it, most likely those are for the transmission. If there are no line, then you should have one installed before you start driving it as it will have no way of cooling down.

Also, you can over cool a transmission. If there is too much cooling, the tranny will not shift right, so I have read.
Old 04-26-2010, 10:56 AM
Mopar Fan

A prior owner put in the new radiator and the lines are just looped under with no cooling. I'll get one put on then, figured as much but had to ask.

Should have her next Sunday, will post picts once I do.
Old 04-26-2010, 11:01 AM
Mopar Fan

Since it's not going through the radiator, is the aux one going to be enough to do the job on it's own or should I just replace the whole radiator with one that does have the proper hookups? Thoughts?