P1391 & P0403

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2011, 04:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
P1391 & P0403

I have had a problem with my 1997 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN LE LWB WAGON. The has a 3.8L engine and has approximately 145,000 miles on it. When I took over the maintenance on this vehicle it seems like the previous person neglected it. Here is some information I typed out to keep everything straight. My information may be incorrect feel free to correct me. I am not an experience mechanic, but have done work on vehicles in the past. Some things I did were just to check the condition of them even if they aren't related to the problem.

Background

The van is bucking or loosing power randomly when you reach 2,000 and over RPM's. This happens in park, neutral, or drive (even in 3 and L) It is the worst going up hills.

Previous maintenance seems non existent since I have found many problems and it seems only serious problems were addressed. The problem I am experiencing has been happening for a long time off and on almost since the person that drives the van purchased the vehicle which doesn't make sense to me. It happens too often to go on long trips or up hills since I can't put a huge load on the engine.

Research

Got codes P1391 crank of cam position sensor and P0403 EGR Solenoid Failure from the the scan tool at the auto part store. Originally the sales associate said it was an EGR Solenoid Failure and Coil Failure, but that isn't what the first code says online. I am a bit confused on that. I did find a bad spark plug wire but haven't replaced it. I cleaned it up and it fired well when tested. I will do a tune up when I address the other issues.

I have looked on many forums, websites, auto parts websites, etc... and this is what I found for possible solutions to the problem

EGR Solenoid, EGR Valve, or whole assembly replacement

Crank or Cam sensor replacement

Timing Chain Slack throwing off the timing

Catalytic converter failure

Vacuum leak