Thinking of buying this 72' Dart, Have questions.

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2010, 12:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Thinking of buying this 72' Dart, Have questions.

Hi,

I'm new to mopar, have been diehard into jeeps for a while and am wanting to get into this instead lately.

So, i'm thinking about buying this dart thats for sale around here. It's got a 440 magnum, 727 trans with shift kit and B&M. Bunch of other stuff.

So, for the most part I know what i'm looking at but still had a few questions.

heres the car: he wants $8000 for it.

Now, this sounds like a stupid question, bash me, i'm new- so here goes:
on this picture,

Why is the bell housing and flywheel showing? Isnt it suppose to be fully covered/connected? I havnt seen it in person yet, it's a bit of a drive...
Old 06-02-2010, 01:06 AM
thinkin with me dipstick

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
it's missing the inspection cover for the transmission. i'd give it the eagle eye in there, especially if its been driven like that.

if it is as good as it looks in the pics, 8000 is a good price
Old 06-02-2010, 01:12 AM

Yeah! I feel less stupid!

Will do. So ya, thats a decent price? The seller is kind of, um... curt and I was having issues getting extra pictures (hes about 3 hours away). He said he's put about 10,000 on it in the last 3 or so years... But luckily, I am familiar with my 727's.

So what kind of inspection plate is needed? Or who sells it?

Thanks for the answer btw!
Old 06-02-2010, 02:47 AM
thinkin with me dipstick

the inspection cover is what is missing on the transmission
http://www.bradsnosmopar.com/nosmop727tra.html

as far as price, if the car done all half-assed - 8 is a good price.

the ac lines going through the firewall next to the master cylinder is kind of odd. the missing inspection cover too, if it was for the picture thats one thing but...

if he is acting hinky with the pictures, i'd be real careful
Old 06-02-2010, 02:56 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post