Charging/electrical problem HELP???

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2013, 11:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Charging/electrical problem HELP???

Hi guys. Im new to Mopars. Im a Ford guy for the last 30 years and Im trying to figure out this Mopar charging system.
I have a 68 Charger 318. I upgraded to Alternator to a dual field powermaster 75A unit. I changed over to the electronic voltage regulator and re did the wiring mod that is required. The motor has an MSD electronic distributor which requires 12V. Also has an electric fan and higher power headlights 90w/100w. Here is my problem...
The amp meter NEVER shows a charge, usually -10 or so and with headlights on -20 to -30. I know these fluctuate a lot but this is extreme. The regulator is working fine and the battery is getting about 13.5 volts at idle. When I turn on the headlights I get about 12.7 to the Battery. I wired in a second battery wire from Alt to starter solenoid with a fuseable link, since I read it helps alleviate wiring problems for the firewall connections. I have tried everything to try and figure out why the meter shows such a discharge. I had to remove the ballast resistor to the coil and Ign 2/regulator wire because the ignition needs a constant 12V at start and idle. I tried putting the ballast back on just the IGN2 wire but then it wouldn't start because the diminished Voltage during cranking. The headlights and dome light pulse brighter as the rpms go from idle to cruise and vice versa. The fan is wired thru a relay and pulls power from the battery (should I pull power from the ignition supplied 12V instead?)
How can I make it so the lights/headlights are steady and don't change brightness?
How can I fix the charging problem? Is there a trick with these mopar systems? Im used to the Ford 1 wire plug and play, so you can see why Im feeling so stupid right now.