New Members Feel free to introduce yourself.

Back to my roots

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2017, 09:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Back to my roots

Hello all. My name is Bert. i am an HVAC technician in Las Vegas.
I have recently picked up a 75 dodge 3/4 ton long bed club cab.
she has a 440 and 727.
I started life as a mopar kid with a 74 plymouth fury canal boat that just would not die.
Later i found me a 78 dodge of the exact same setup as the one i just found, however, with a 318. I remember that truck wold smoke the 16.5 wide back wheels.
eventually it caught fire and burned by spitting up when i got on it one day due to not having an air cleaner or good vacuum advance. being the dumb teenager i was at the time i pulled the 360 from the fury and threw it in the truck. had one hell of a vibration due to not knowing the torque converter from the 318 was not compatible.
this caused the truck to throw a fan blade up the arm of my moms last husband and almost sever his artery.
we fixed the problem and it was a good work truck until we lost the family business due to his accident.
i have been a chevy guy and with the gas prices a subaru guy building a lifted 78 brat and a lifted 79 wagon.
I have been looking for a truck like this for a while to throw me back to the days of the unstoppable dodge truck i once had.
I have a 78 pace arrow RV for a donor engine and tranny.
the truck is a one owner vehicle that was driven by the guy until it burned a few valves coming up the hill from cali to vegas. it has sat for 20 years with the heads off.
Its all there so i will rebuild the original and maybe throw a cam in it and upsize the bore.
for now i will run it with the donor engine.
I am in need of a dashboard as mine has turned to dust under the vegas sun.
I was wondering if anyone her can steer me in the right direction.
Thanks
Happy to join your forum.
Old 08-22-2017, 02:36 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 359 Likes on 333 Posts
Welcome.
Old 08-22-2017, 07:39 PM
Mopar Lover