New Members Feel free to introduce yourself.

Knowledge Is Power

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2017, 07:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Knowledge Is Power

My dad and I recently bought a 1969 Charger, but its nearly in project car condition. It runs and drives but really seems to lack the "oomf" I wanna feel when I put my foot down. Its a 4 speed with a '74 440, but it maxes out at around 70 m.p.h. Needless to say, I want to change that.

I've always loved muscle cars especially Mopar but have never really worked on cars. I've done routine maintenance stuff obviously (changing filters, belts, etc.) but never any real "work" I would say.

My first question is what are good resources to learn about rebuilding to a complete novice. For example, I tried to look up what sort of rear end would be a better fit for our car and was completely overwhelmed by the amount of numbers being thrown out, as well as having really no idea what any of them meant.

And, as I'm in college and have little to no money to really be spending on it, what are the best cheap ways to turn our Charger into a street menace?

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-28-2017, 10:04 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 66 Likes on 65 Posts
Originally Posted by Teej5757
My dad and I recently bought a 1969 Charger, but its nearly in project car condition. It runs and drives but really seems to lack the "oomf" I wanna feel when I put my foot down. Its a 4 speed with a '74 440, but it maxes out at around 70 m.p.h. Needless to say, I want to change that.

I've always loved muscle cars especially Mopar but have never really worked on cars. I've done routine maintenance stuff obviously (changing filters, belts, etc.) but never any real "work" I would say.