New Members Feel free to introduce yourself.

What does a stall converter do?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2018, 09:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What does a stall converter do?

So I bought a new truck(1978 dodge warlock) it's got a newly rebuilt 360 a rebuilt A727 and rebuilt rear end with 4:11s and also the guy gave me a set of 3:23 gears that I had put in after the truck over heated on the highway going home. Probably should have brought a car trailer. Anyways. The guy said that the engine and transmission had some stuff done/added. Here it is. Engine; mopar purple cam, headers, intake, and polished(so cleaned out and gaskets replaced I'm assuming). Transmission; 3 speed 727 automatic with a shift kit and stall converter. Can anyone tell me what this stuff means. I vaguely know what it means. I am no mechanic whatsoever. But I am intrigued by engines and vehicles and how stuff works so I'd like to learn more. I dont know if when the guy said headers he meant he replaced them or if he upgraded them or what the stock one is or anything. I dont have any specs on the cam either, but i do know I have to take it out to find out and I am not up for that. All I know it makes the truck more rumbly and drink more gas. Also the truck has a new flomaster true dual exhaust system but it points directly at the rear axle. What's up with that. Any help is much appreciated.
Old 07-13-2018, 06:16 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 870 Likes on 849 Posts
Wait a minute..... Are you saying your "Clueless" ?????? Never studied what any of this was all about? and Ran out and bought a Hot Rodded Truck? Wow
So where do we start?
Stock
Hot Rod
Custom
Modified
And lot's of terminology >>>>> https://www.onallcylinders.com/2013/...sary-we-think/
https://staceydavid.com/

But to answer the question >>>> https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q...E&&FORM=VRDGAR

This will help for your reading and understanding also....
http://www.powerblocktv.com/

Last edited by RacerHog; 07-13-2018 at 06:32 AM.