need a little advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 04:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
need a little advice

Hi, I'm a new member here, but I see there are some pretty knowledgeable members who could possibly help me out. I have been driving a 1999 Dakota RWD with a magnum 318 for a bout five years now. Due to a bad carrier bearing I had to rebuild the diff. and opted for a Spicer 3.90 ring and pinion setup. now I want to go fast. I had been looking for a 440 and Torqueflite 727 to build up and transplant, but I was recently offered a great deal on a still running 400 out of a Cordoba. What I don't know is what transmission comes with that and whether it would be any good for street/light strip action along with a bit of towing? anybody who can tell me?
Old 03-23-2011, 06:54 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by sporttruckr
Hi, I'm a new member here, but I see there are some pretty knowledgeable members who could possibly help me out. I have been driving a 1999 Dakota RWD with a magnum 318 for a bout five years now. Due to a bad carrier bearing I had to rebuild the diff. and opted for a Spicer 3.90 ring and pinion setup. now I want to go fast. I had been looking for a 440 and Torqueflite 727 to build up and transplant, but I was recently offered a great deal on a still running 400 out of a Cordoba. What I don't know is what transmission comes with that and whether it would be any good for street/light strip action along with a bit of towing? anybody who can tell me?
Well to be honest I'm not sure on the transmission, I imagine it would be a 727. If I were you I would hunt for a 440 if your really wanting to do some real damage on the street or strip. The 400 was a big block but had relatively low power ratings. Here check this list of power ratings out. It has everything on there. http://www.lhmopars.com/engines.htm