440 Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2012, 05:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
440 Build

I am about to start my first major build. I have already tore the engine down to the block and I am ready to start ordering parts. I am needing suggestions on what the best set up would be. This will be going into a 2000 Dakota. I am really building to to take to the tracks, and drive around every once and a while. I really want to go big, but still be able to drive it to the track.

What parts/brands are best? What suggestions do you have?

Thank You,
Jacob
Old 01-24-2012, 07:56 PM
Mopar Fanatic

Hi Jake,

I'm just a newbie myself but when I asked a similar question I was referred to two books on Mopar BB's.

1. How to Build a High Performance Chrysler Engine - Frank Adkins
(up to 600HP)

2. How to Build Max-Performance Mopar BB's - Andy Finkbeiner
(more geared towards stroker motors with aftermarket Mopar blocks & stroker-kits 6-900HP)

Good luck and be sure to post lots of pics,

Joe
Old 01-24-2012, 08:42 PM
Super Moderator

Received 181 Likes on 170 Posts
Yeap welcome aboard and get some reading done. Amazon.com has both of them.
Attached Thumbnails 440 Build-61xfaxfqvjl__sl160_aa115_.jpg   440 Build-51qq4r-2bbqll__sl160_pisitb-sticker-arrow-dp-topright-12-18_sh30_ou01_aa115_.jpg  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:28 PM
Mopar Fan

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Jake, Welcome aboard, like Joe Welder, I to am doing the same- 71 440 that will go into my 73 Challenger, post pics and keep us updated. Mine is going to another shop the first one wasn't working fast enough. Have fun with this.
Take care Joe
Old 01-25-2012, 05:07 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts
welcome aboard you will get good advice from thows books that were suggested, post pics and ask a lot of questions it helps
Old 01-25-2012, 04:31 PM