Need help picking the right torque converter

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2012, 07:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Need help picking the right torque converter

Do not know whitch auto trans it has in it there was two available for that year my truck is a dodge ram 1500 5.9L 4x4 off road edition would like a new torque converter but don't know how to select one
Old 05-04-2012, 07:58 PM
Super Moderator

Received 181 Likes on 170 Posts
I am no expert but have the weight of the vehicle, the gear ratio, the HP and torque of your motor and call a company like Turbo Action or Transmission Specialties.
The following users liked this post:
Barry.keeney (06-13-2012)
Old 05-04-2012, 08:21 PM

Ok right now I am doing a motor rebuild so the best thing to do is wait till I am finished I was hoping to get in there while I had it apart
Old 05-04-2012, 09:27 PM
Super Moderator

Received 181 Likes on 170 Posts
Originally Posted by Barry.keeney
Ok right now I am doing a motor rebuild so the best thing to do is wait till I am finished I was hoping to get in there while I had it apart
Unless your builder or yourself can get an idea of the hp and torque. You might also call your cam shaft supplier and see what they recommend.
Old 05-05-2012, 01:14 AM

I am going with a custom ground racer brown cam that's where I need to turn to for the answer prob
Old 05-05-2012, 11:41 AM
PK1
Mopar Lover

Received 106 Likes on 104 Posts
Racer Brown is gonna make you one correct? Give us specs..

Also you will need to retune pcm to work with cam change and dont over cam that intake. Its done at 4500. No flow after that. It makes great power off idle.

what gears in the truck and whats its application?
Old 05-06-2012, 04:55 AM