Potential Noob -- Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2010, 12:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Potential Noob -- Questions

In the 70's and the 80's my uncle owned somewhere around 6-8 1st Gen Plymouth Barracudas. When he died before I was born, my dad kept a ton of Mopar parts (particularly badges, interior peices, etc.), but we've never done anything with them. Yesterday, I was walking past a Mopar restoration center and something grabbed my attention. The colors, the smell, im not really sure. But that is a ridiculously good atmosphere.
I've always been into Volkswagens, but now in my infinate wisdom I'm over my head in a VW Fox... so I'd really be intrested in getting into a car that actually appreciates with time.
I'm not sure this is a really good idea, because I'm a student, and frankly, I like getting 30mpg. But, these are pretty sick cars. I'd probably be able to manage.
What should I know when looking for a car? Any trouble areas? Welds, rust?
I hope I'm posting in the right area. Thanks, Kevin
Old 01-10-2010, 01:08 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Stick with newer late model transportation. Old cars are a hobby, not intended to be used as reliable, economical transportation. That being said there are some on here that drive their old cars everyday.

A few considerations. First forget mileage. Forget it, nope none of them. Second, the restoration cost to get it to a point it will be road worthy and dependable, is not usually something a student can handle with the cost of school, job, social life etc... So, finish school, find a job that pays well, and the whole time do research and decide what you really like in vintage cars. Be prepared to put down good money for a good car. The better the car you start with, the better the car will be you finish with.

Welcome to the old car hobby!
Old 01-10-2010, 04:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts