MAP sensor,or other problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2012, 06:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MAP sensor,or other problems

I was going to swap out my 318 engine,for a crate 360/408 stroker,,but was told my MAP sensor,would not work right,,,new to this type of swap,,,any help with the proper way i can do this swap,,,and not going to a carb,and different distributor would be cool,i know the 360/408 is externally balanced,,,my truck i am trying to do this with is a 1996 dakota 4x4 sport. I want to keep the fuel injection if a can,I should add it is a automatic transmission,with over drive. Thxs

Pat

PS: I noticed that my post has been viewed,,,,i am new at this type of questioning,,if i should have posted this in another part of this site,,,any help will be nice,,again thxs.

Pat

Last edited by allcore1@hotmail.com; 10-06-2012 at 06:35 AM. Reason: mistake
Old 11-27-2012, 11:03 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 43 Likes on 42 Posts
Hi Pat
I believe it depends mostly on the cam profile , if the engine makes similar vacuum you should be OK but if the vacuum is low with a more aggressive cam this will affect the MAP & send a different signal to the computer for the engine . You may be able to change the computer program overiding the MAP at idle to a fixed value switching back to closed loop above idle by flashing the computer with new settings , a friend of mine does this all the time with the Mustangs but Daimler is tougher .
My experience is mostly going the other way , I have fitted EFI to older vehicles with a programmable stand alone computer for the EFI , I was able to easily over ride the Map at idle by going to a fixed program at idle & reverting to closed loop above 1500 rpm . This was on a 440 with a solid roller .670 lift race cam & approx 4" of vacuum at idle , you would never have suspected the cam was in there as every cylinder fired every time so it idled like a stock engine !!
Old 11-27-2012, 12:22 PM
PK1
Mopar Lover

Received 106 Likes on 104 Posts