Carburetor on 72 Charger with a 318

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 07:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Carburetor on 72 Charger with a 318

I need to replace my carburetor on my 72 Charger SE, automatic, with a 318.
She currently has a 2 barrel Carter AFB which we tried to have rebuilt. The mechanic said it had been modified and is leaking fuel. Since the carburetor was rebuilt the car sputters and the carb puts out puffs of smoke and leaks fuel. We are considering replacing with a Street 500 cfm 2-bbl Carburetor Holley 2300 Series. Is this an appropriate replacement for my engine? Will it fit or require an adapter plate? If it requires an adapter plate, which one? Is there a better option for a 2 barrel carburetor. I'm new at this and my mechanic isn't a Mopar expert so any help/ suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-04-2012, 07:33 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 170 Likes on 166 Posts
Charlie -

Unless you're looking for a factory, numbers matching car, why stay with a 2V? The right size 4V might even give you better mileage, if you don't have a heavy foot, since most of the time you'll be running off of the smaller primaries.

While you can use an adapter plate to get the 4V carb to fit on the 2V manifold, but good dual plane aluminum manifolds aren't that expensive, and it's a pretty simple swap. There are choices from Edlebrock and Holley for both the carb and manifold.

and welcome to the forum!

Archer
The following users liked this post:
Charlie72 (11-04-2012)
Old 11-04-2012, 08:07 PM

Carburetor

Matching numbers is something I would like to keep as much as possible. However, I also need to the least expensive route right now and try to improve gas mileage if possible. She is a daily driver. You can use a 4 barrel with an adapter plate without changing the intake? Will a Holley 2 barrel fit without an adapter plate?
Old 11-04-2012, 08:24 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 386 Likes on 381 Posts