I need a reality check, can you help?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2015, 08:24 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
I need a reality check, can you help?

Some of my earliest memories are riding around with my big brother in his 71 Satellite Sebring. I was running the thought through my head of trying to pick one up. What type of ball park could I expect this project to run. I don't figure I could afford a full restoration but would like to make it streetable. Would this be a good vehicle for me to make my first classic rebuild? Would body work to make it a track car be easier if facing large amounts of rust? Is there a good reliable source for me to educate myself on the Satellite models around that era? TIA
Old 03-28-2015, 09:07 AM
Super Moderator

Received 498 Likes on 480 Posts
I've been building cars for most of forty years and the best advice I can give is start with the most solid complete car you can find and afford. Most of the time the money spent upfront will be saved twofold in the end. A good example is body work, at $50 to $70 per hr. it doesn't take much to justify paying up for a solid body. It's the same with the drivetrain, motor builds 7k to 10+, transmissions 2k+ etc., so if you can find what you want with a good drivetrain your money ahead. The other thing is missing parts, grills, moldings, emblems and body sheet metal can be hard to find and expensive if you do. so try to get a project as complete as possible it will save you in the long run.

The last customer build I did was a 55 Chevy, a rusty POS, I had 1700 hrs. in paint and bodywork.
Old 03-28-2015, 11:44 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 870 Likes on 849 Posts
Good Advice rite there.... Check Hemmimgs motor news.... Get a good one..

>>>> http://www.hemmings.com/hcc/stories/..._feature1.html

Last edited by RacerHog; 03-28-2015 at 11:46 AM.
Old 03-28-2015, 01:24 PM
Mopar Fanatic