Water in the oil - my first head gasket change? 318 Dodge W100

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2018, 11:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Water in the oil - my first head gasket change? 318 Dodge W100

First let me state I am a newbie but I do have a decent idea of what is going on. I just get a bit confused with what sort of things to look for when trying to see how everything is working. Im not a mechanic by any means and I am doing this alone as I do not have many friends nor do I know anyone who does this sort of stuff.
Im looking for some people to help guide me through this issue.

I bought a 76 Dodge W100 Power Wagon with a 318. The orig 318 was 'tired but working' which is now taken apart in the back of the truck. I did this to learn what was what and to prepare me for what is coming.

The 318 in the truck runs great except I had major water in the oil. Thought it was from sitting all those years but after an oil flush and cleaning PVC, the issue persisted - it is pretty bad too.

Decided I would do a head gasket change. I got the intake off tonight.

All I know is I have oil all over the hood when I let it run for a while and I think its because the pressure built up and blew the dipstick up and the fan blew it around. I do not see any leaks from gaskets directly.

Anyway, thought I would share pictures and ask for some opinions. I see a lot of rust on the rockers, I assume from condensation and/or the water from getting on it and the truck sitting for so long.