1978 318 Timing Advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2012, 02:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1978 318 Timing Advice

Hello all,

I have a 1967 Plymouth Fury convertible that I've been working on restoring for about two years now. Originally a 318 car, the original engine was broken and needs rebuilding. In the car now, from the guy I bought it from, is a very weak and used 1978 318. I know that in order to get some real power I need to either rebuild the original engine or throw both small blocks in the trash and go find a 440 or 383. However, all of that takes money, and I'd like to see what I can get out of this old 318 without putting much money into it. One of the things that came to mind was something with the timing gears. in 1978, I know that they started putting the lean-burn system on 318s, and the engine would have already had pollution controls on it from 1975. Given that I'm not running any pollution controls or lean-burn, where should I be setting the timing of this engine? I've upgraded to electronic ignition already.
Also, would it help to get non-smog era upper and lower timing gears for it? I believe it has the original 1978s now. Again, not looking to spend much money, but to see what I can get out of it before having to rebuild.

Thanks a bunch!
Old 03-31-2012, 04:39 PM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
You have to realize that 68/ later timing specs were to meet SMOG requirements and NOT for performance or economy

One problem --we don't know what you have-- is that many late model smog distributors had a VERY long and VERY slow advance mechanism. The mechanical advance will be marked with a number, which indicates the amount of advance in DISTRIBUTOR degrees, which are 1/2 "crank degrees."