'71 727 Torqueflite Question/advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2013, 04:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'71 727 Torqueflite Question/advice

Hi All!

I'm new to MOPAR Forums, but not to Musclecars. I'm writing because there's more wisdom and knowledge here that just might prevent me from making a potentially serious mistake.

I'm about to rebuild the 727 TF in my 1968 Sport Fury 440 Convertible so I can drive it to Musclepalooza XVIII Sept. 1st. The transmission is a 1971 out of a '71 383 'cuda. I have a couple questions and I'm hoping that you folks might be able to help me understand:

1) I have the 1968 Plymouth factory service manual and I'm curious how much of the information it covers for the 727 Torqueflite is applicable to my 1971-era trans. I know there were some changes/improvements made to the '71's like part-throttle kickdown, but I don't know what, if any, info from a '68 manual will apply to my '71 trans.

2) The 727 I'm rebuilding was originally behind a 383 2-bbl. It is now behind the original '68 440 Super Commando in my Sport Fury. What are the differences between these two transmissions?

3) I have another 727 TF that's out of a 1973 Chrysler Big-Block. Is there any reason why I should maybe rebuild this transmission instead of the '71 that's in my car now? Would there be any benefit?

I appreciate any and all help/guidance you folks could share.

Many Thanks,
Uncle Hulka
Old 08-21-2013, 07:48 AM
Mopar Lover

Received 248 Likes on 241 Posts
I think there were minor differences. Make sure they are not the "lock up" version, which is easily identified by looking at the front shaft. The "non" lockup version had splines out to the end of the shaft, while the "lockup" version had a smooth area similar to a stick pilot bushing

Most of what's in your 68 manual is correct, but you can download later manuals.

Go over to FABO, here:

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/...d.php?t=244981

And there are some at MyMopar