Valve Seals-440-Rookie

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2012, 03:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Valve Seals-440-Rookie

As the name suggests, I'm quite new to this.
My Dad and I bought a 69 Charger 2 years ago. 440, 13:1 comp,570hp, 727TQFLT
We started by adding disk brakes, and replaced the battery,then,replaced the fusible link (after blowing it)
We changed the oil, and here we are now.
It took alot of time to start it last summer, so My friend and I checked the plugs. They were wet with oil. We cleaned em up, sanded the gap between the plug and the other end of the arc thingy (give me some slack). it started up.
We then went under further investigation, to find that one of the plug cables had been partially burned through, from contact with a header. I took electricians tape, and wrapped it. Then we looked under the mat in the trunk, and found a TON of rust.
I took it to a much more experienced friend of mine, and he told me I needed new valve seals.

I was wondering, how to change valve seals. And if you spotted anything shaky with the story, please speak up! all experience and knowledge, is highly appreciated, Thank You!
Old 01-13-2013, 05:16 AM
Mopar Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Better let someone with exp fix it.
Old 01-13-2013, 06:37 AM
PK1
Mopar Lover

Received 106 Likes on 104 Posts
Valve seals are not difficult but I'm not a big fan of replacing parts to try and fix something. It can be a costly habit. Its not difficult but can be labor intensive to fix. Sounds like you already tackled some stuff that others wouldnt do, so try this fix too. Worst case scenario is you tow it to someone to fix and all you are out of is your time. I took my old mans intake off when I was a kid to fix a lifter and screwed it up. Towed it to the garage and the old timer there made me fix it after school and showed me how to do it. Then I was hooked.